12th edition – 2013

12th edition
Magma Film Festival

Receiving 630 submissions from all over the world, once again Magma proves to be one of the best short film festivals in Italy. After a careful selection, 37 short films are chosen to represent the best of what Magma considers a separate art form, allowing the experimentation of new styles and the creation of new trends. For the third consecutive year, Magma has decided to subtitle all foreign works in competition into Italian.

More than 20 filmmakers from Europe, America and Asia join the festival to present their works. On this occasion, some of the selected films are premiered in Italy.

This year’s programme offers special sections devoted to two remarkable European festival partnerships: the Scottish Glasgow Short Film Festival and the Hungarian Jameson Cinefest International Film Festival Miskolc.

The Lorenzo Vecchio Award, devoted to the first artistic director of the festival, goes to the German short film Ballet story by Daria Belova, in competition in the Narrative section.

The President of the Jury is the Iranian-born actor and film editor Babak Karimi, winner of the Silver Bear for Best Actor in the film A Separation (2011) by Asghar Farhadi, which was awarded the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film and the Golden Bear in Berlin.

As an editor, he has worked with Abbas Kiarostami, Babak Payami, Vera Belmont, Pasquale Scimeca, Maurizio Zaccaro and Gianfranco Pannone, among others. He has also taught editing at Centro Sperimentale di Cinematografia in Rome and Accademia dell’Immagine in L’Aquila. Karimi serves as a promoter and intermediary between the Italian and Iranian film industries, writing the Italian dialogues for films by Abbas Kiarostami, Mohsen Makhmalbaf, Jafar Panahi, Abolfazi Jalili, and Asghar Farhadi, and working as a consultant for a variety of film festivals and other events.

The other members of the Jury panel are Matt Lloyd, director of Glasgow Short Film Festival in Scotland, and the Italian actress Irene Ferri.

International Competition

International Competition

Here you can find the list of the selected short films

Argile, Michaël Guerraz
Ballet Story, Daria Belova
Beginning, Pier Wilkie
Carry Me Away, Cristina Grosan
Et Dieu créa la pomme, Sophie Galibert
Eutanas S.A., Victor Nores
Geschwister (Siblings), Joya Thome
Leben!, Carolin Färber
Musik liegt in der Luft (There is Music in the Air), Tim Bosse
Sevilla, Bram Schouw
Someone Might Drop a Cigarette Butt (Moze netko bacit cik odozgo), Josip Viskovic
Steffi gefällt das (Steffi Likes This), Philipp Scholz
Sub, Jossie Malis Álvarez
Tin & Tina, Rubin Stein


Apple Pie, Pablo Polledri
Big Hands Oh Big Hands, Let It Be Bigger and Bigger, Lei Lei
Choir Tour, Edmunds Jansons
Cycloid, Kurogi Tomoki
Habitat, Ina Georgieva
Head Over Heels, Timothy Reckart
Jamón, Iria Lopez
La danza del piccolo ragno, Lucia Rotelli
Linear, Amir Admoni
Lost Senses, Marcin Wasilewski
Mee, Letty Felgendreher
My Baby Don´t Love Me, Jäälinoja
You Shall Not Leave the Way!, Veronika Szemlova


Dinosaurios en 3D, Juan Beiro
Grünes Gold (Green Gold), Barbara Marheineke
Hviezda (The Star), Andrej Kolencik
Nyosha, Liran Kapel
The Conversation, Piotr Sulkowski


2012, Yevgeniia Vradii
Dorian C., Rebecca Arndt
La Isla de los Muertos, Vuk Jevremovic
Surrounded, Arne Körner
Vicissitude, Matthias Negrello