8th edition – 2009

8th edition
Magma Film Festival

Rather than the traditional cinema, the eighth edition opts for a less formal setting such as the cloister of the former high school Gulli and Pennisi in Acireale which on 7th-9th August is set up as an outdoor arena.
The final evening showcased the retrospective devoted to La Casa dei Santi, an art collective formed by Alessandra Pescetta , Calcagno and Zeno Lorenzo Verlato: the assorted origin of its members makes the short film and works of video art an experimental field where cinema and theatre are merged together.

The Lorenzo Vecchio prize is awarded to Paseo, a narrative short film by the Spanish Arturo Ruiz Serrano. Four special mentions, one for each section of the competition, are also given. This shows the high level of the 29 works presented this year, selected among the over five hundred submitted from 49 countries around the world. More than 900 people attended the three festival nights.

This year’s jury is made up of three members: the director Alessandra Pescetta (author of various videoclips for well-known artists such as Elisa and Ligabue, as well as TV advertisements), together with the actor Giovanni Calcagno (starring in films by Mario Martone, Bellocchio, Scimeca and Giulio Manfredonia in the latest Si può fare) and the documentary filmmaker Giuseppe Tumino (a Sicilian videomaker, guest director at Magma 2007 with the short documentary Urime – la lingua salvata and winner of the first edition of Giro Giro Corto with Gion Braun – l’ultimo dei modicani).

International Competition

International Competition

Here you can find the list of the selected short films

Geri Donusum Gunlugu (Recycle Diary), Efe Conker
Paseo, Arturo Ruiz Serrano
Pim, pam, pum, Asier Urbieta & Andoni De Carlos
Silba perfidia, Cesar Esteban Alenda
Sofia, Carlo Sironi
The Survivor of the Hippocampus, Julien Lecat
Welgunzer, Bradford Schmidt


Camilla, Yulia Aronova
Felures, Alexis Ducord & Nicolas Pawlowski
For Mathilde, Alla Churikova
L’anima Mavì, Julia Gromskaya
Structures, Jasper Kuipers


Harraga, Eva Patricia Fernández & Mario de la Torre
Lipari, Frank van den Engel
Listening to the Silences, Pedro Flores
Zora Zorita Zora, Amparo Mejías


In The Name of Art, J, Virgilio Villoresi
Muto, Blu
Orgesticulanismus, Mathieu Labaye
Silence, Ava Lanche